The 11th Yao Yuan Biotech-Pharma Symposium


Conference Registration.

Executive Summary for Roadshow Presentation/Project.

Executive Summary for Roadshow Presentation/Project.

Apply for Roadshow Presentation

Thank you for your participation!

Conference Chair

Terry Opgenorth
Terry Opgenorth Ph.D
Vice President, CSU Ventures; Ex-Vice President, Abbott Laboratories.
Organizing Committee

Scott Brun
Scott Brun MD

Vice President, AbbVieHead of AbbVie Ventures

Yang Xin Fu
Yang Xin Fu MD, Ph.D

Mary Nell and Ralph B. Rogers Professor of Immunology, UT Southwestern Medical Center

James Hussey
James Hussey Ph.D

Executive Vice President, Athenex

Ka Yee C. Lee
Ka Yee C. Lee Ph.D

Professor & Vice President for Research, the University of Chicago

Ying Liu
Ying Liu Ph.D

President, SAPA-Midwest; Associate Professor, University of Illinois at Chicago

Yingming Zhao
Yingming Zhao Ph.D

Professor, University of Chicago

Gui-Dong Zhu
Gui-Dong Zhu

President, Yao Yuan

Xun Zhu
Xun Zhu

Chairman, Tong Xie Yi

Program Highlights

Keynote Presentations
  • Henry O. Gosebruch, Executive Vice President & Chief Strategy Officer, AbbVie
  • Yong-Jun Liu, Ph.D, Head of R&D, Sanofi
  • Scott Brun, MD, Vice President, AbbVie& Head of AbbVie Ventures
  • Yuan-Hua Ding, Ph.D, Executive Director, Asia Pacific R&D, Pfizer
  • Jose Oberholzer, MD, Professor of Surgery and Biomedical Engineering, Chief, Division of Transplant, University of Virginia

Program Introduction and Key Initiatives

Up to 100

Renowned Venture Capitals and Investment Banks.

Up to 100

Roadshow Presentations


and Matchmaking Activities


Date Time Event
6:00 PM –8:30 PM Welcome Dinner hosted by Dr. Terry Opgenorth, Vice Presi- dent, CSU Ventures & Ex-VicePresident, Abbott Laboratories (Venue TBD)
9:00 AM – 10:40 AM Moderator: Dr. Terry Opgenorth (Chair), Vice President, CSU Ventures & Ex-Vice President, Abbott Laboratories
9:00 AM – 9:10 AM Opening Remarks: Dr. Terry Opgenorth (Chair), VicePresident, CSU Ventures & Ex-VicePresident, Abbott Laboratories
9:10 AM – 9:20AM Opening Remarks: Hong Lei, Consul General, Consulate Gen- eral of People’s Republic of China in Chicago
9:20 AM – 9:40 AM Special Remarks on the China Resources: Congen Peng, Mayor, Shunde/Foshan City, Guangdong Province, China
9:40 AM – 10:10 AM Dr. Yuan-Hua Ding, Executive Director, Asia Pacific R&D, Pfizer
10:10 AM – 10:40 AM Dr. Scott Brun, Head of AbbVie Ventures
10:40 AM – 11:20 AM Coffee Break – Networking
11:20 AM – 12:20 PM

Roadshow Session 1 – Two Tracks

Track A
Moderator: Scott Brun, Head of AbbVie Ventures
Track B
Moderator: Ying Liu, Associate Professor, UIC
11:20 AM – 11:40 AM
Daniel Schmitt/Actuate Therapeutics Seungpyo Hong/ Capio Biosciences
11:40 AM – 12:00 PM
James Yang/TAYU HUAXIA Biotech Medical Group Co., Ltd. Steve Seung-Young Lee/Transnostics LLC
12:00 PM – 12:20 PM
Bruce Riser/BLR Bio Baoli Yang/ImmortagenInc
12:20 PM – 1:30 PM

Lunch – SBIR/STTR Panel


Jian Lou, Ph.D, Program Director, NIH SBIR Program

  • Dr. Anning Lin, Professor, University of Chicago
  • Dr. Paul Liu, President and CEO, Microsensor Lab
  • Dr. Ruth Wu-Wong, President, Vidasym
  • Dr. Mike Liu, Executive Vice President, Alphamab
1:30 PM – 2:30 PM

Roadshow Session 2 – Two Tracks

Track A
Moderator: Yingming Zhao, Professor of University of Chi- cago
Track B
Moderator: John Xu, VP of Abpro
1:30 PM – 1:50 PM
Wenbin Lin/RiMO Therapeu- tics John Freshley/ONL Thera- peutics, Inc.
1:50 PM – 2:10 PM
Wenbin Lin/Coordination Pharmaceuticals Inc. Chengcang Charles Wu/Intact Genomics, Inc.
2:10 PM – 2:30 PM
Xuefei Huang/Iaso Therapeutics Demao Yang/B & Y Tech- nologies
2:30 PM – 3:10 PM Snack Break – Networking
3:10 PM – 5:00 PM

Roadshow Session 3 – Two Tracks

Track A
Moderator: Mike Liu, Execu- tive VP, Alphamab
Track B
Moderator: James Hussey, ex- Executive VicePresident, Athenex
3:10 PM – 3:30 PM
ZhendongJin/InnoBioPharma, LLC William Kohlbrenner/ NeuroLucent
3:30 PM – 3:50 PM
Chris Yoo/Systems Oncology, LLC Shouming DU/BRAINXELL, INC
3:50 PM – 4:10 PM
JianxinDuan/Ascenta Pharma- ceuticals, LTD Russell Dahl/Neurodon LLC
4:10 PM – 4:30 PM
Kaimin Cai/IRIA Pharma LLC Hongyu Liu/Prosit Sole Bio- technology
4:30 PM – 5:00 PM Decompression Time
5:00 PM Depart Hotel for Chicago River Architectural Dinner Cruise - Networking
9:00AM – 10:00 AM

Roadshow Session 4 – Two Tracks

Track A
Moderator: Gui-Dong Zhu, President, Yao Yuan
Track B
Prof. Ying Liu, Associate Professor, UIC
9:00 AM – 9:20 AM
J. Ruth Wu-Wong/Vidasym YuliaKomarova/University of Illinois at Chicago
9:20 AM – 9:40 AM
Thomas Krol/Novadiol, Inc Stephen Benoit/MDI Therapeutics
9:40 AM – 10:00 AM
Vlad Vitoc/Barricade Thera- peutics Hui Li/OncoTargeting LLC
10:00 AM – 10:40 AM Coffee Break – Networking
10:40 AM – 11:40 AM

Roadshow Session 5 – Two Tracks

Track A
Moderator: Terry Opgenorth, VP, CSUV
Track B
Moderator: Mark Lupa, Partner, High Country Ven- tures
10:40 AM – 11:00 AM
Liping Yang/Guangdong H.S.T. Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd JIM LU/GoPath Labs
11:00 AM – 11:20 AM
XiuLing Lu/Nami Therapeutics Corp ErezNevo/Robin Medical, Inc.
11:20 AM – 11:40 AM
Michael Bock/Conceivex, Inc. Xiaoping Du/Dupage Medical Technologies
11:40 AM – 1:00 PM

Special Keynote/Lunch Session

Moderator: Yingming Zhao, Professor, University of Chicago
12:00 PM – 12:30 PM Keynote: Dr. Balaji Srinivasan, Vice President, University of Chicago
12:30 PM – 1:00 PM Keynote: Dr. Henry O. Gosebruch, Executive VP & Chief Strategy Officer, AbbVie
1:00 PM Conclusion: Dr. Terry Opgenorth (Chair)
1:00 PM – 5:00 PM Scheduled Private Networking (Private Space Provided)

Projected Attendees

Participating Venture Capital
AbbVie Ventures Hillhouse Capital Sequoia Capital C-Bridge Capital
Yuanming Capital Hofon Capital Kaitai Capital Morgan Stanley
Switzerland Bank SoftBank Morningside Group Hyde Park Angels
Sangel Venture Capital Yusen Capital Pingan Venture Jifeng Capital
Precision Med Bioscikin Lily Asia Ventures Rotating Builder Fund Loop Capital
Good Health Capital BOHE Angel Fund and many more
Participating Startups/Small Cap Biotech
ONL Therapeutics Capio Bioscience Chicago BioSolution Inc. Dupage Medical Technology
Celltrans Iria Pharma Predicine Genovel
Celula-China BIONANO Neurodon GoPath
CGeneTech Rimo CPL Vidasym
Exicure Inc. TAYU HUAXIA Nanjing Sanhome InnoBioPharm
Boston Pharma B&Y Technology and many more

May 31-June 1

(A day prior to ASCO)


Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel

(1551 Thoreau Dr. Schaumburg, IL 60173)